The Bryant & May Mysteries – An Introduction

16 08 2010

[written by Sharon Ring]

Sometime last year I received a book from Transworld publishers, the latest (at the time) in the Bryant & May Series by Christopher Fowler. One night, while pondering the possibility of a new title to read and review, I grabbed the novel and decided to give it a whirl.

I read the book in one sitting, staying awake all night in order to finish it. Now, it was a good read, don’t get me wrong here, but something was amiss. Nothing wrong with the story itself, as you’ll see when I get round to reviewing it sometime in the future, my problem was having leapt into the series when it was six books in.

Ah, I thought out loud, I shall resolve this dilemma by reading the series from the beginning. Problem solved. Time moved on, other books were read and reviewed but I never forgot my decision to seek out the first Bryant & May novel as and when time permitted.

That time is now. I am two titles in, not counting the later, sixth novel and I am very much in love with this series. The two detectives in the novels, Arthur Bryant and John May, have won me over completely and reviewing the series for Beyond Fiction is going to be an absolute delight. First up will be Full Dark House, look out for the review later this week.

The man behind the Bryant & May Mysteries - Christopher Fowler

Actions

Information

11 responses

17 08 2010
Tweets that mention The Bryant & May Mysteries – An Introduction « -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lynsey Dalladay, Michaela Staton. Michaela Staton said: Sharon Ring @DFReview for @beyondfic The Bryant & May Mysteries – An Introduction http://bit.ly/c64434 […]

17 08 2010
Cate Gardner

I keep meaning to pick up these books. Looking forward to your review.

17 08 2010
Sharon Ring

Oh, definitely do, Cate. I don’t normally go for crime/mystery novels but these books really are rather special. The first review should be online before the week is out.

18 08 2010
Mike Stone

I read about this series in SFX a couple of months ago and I’m very intrigued, to say the least. Look forward to your review.

18 08 2010
Sharon Ring

Hi, Mike. I started writing the review for Full Dark House this afternoon. With any luck it will be online tomorrow. Stay tuned!

18 08 2010
Mike Stone

Look forward to it. Meanwhile, I just checked my local libraries online catalogue, and they have Full Dark House on the shelf…

18 08 2010
Sharon Ring

Grab it, man! Grab it while the grabbing is good.

18 08 2010
Mike Stone

e-Grabbed and waiting for me to collect it in person! Gotta love these online library services. 🙂 If I enjoy it I’ll likely buy it and the other Bryant & Mays, too. The bibliophile in me won’t let me borrow them all from the library.

18 08 2010
Sharon Ring

Nicely grabbed, good sir. Now, will you be reporting back on it once you’ve read…?

Yes, I love those online library services too. I live in a market town with a relatively small library. I am currently “hammering” their inter-library loan system and nagging them about all sorts of titles. Sincerely hoping it’s not going to end up being shut down as part of all the cutbacks.

19 08 2010
Mike Stone

“Nicely grabbed, good sir. Now, will you be reporting back on it once you’ve read…?”

I might just do that. 🙂

19 08 2010
Sharon Ring

Stick around for just a moment, Mike, and you can read that first review. Posting it now!

Leave a Reply

